"Boardgames made with Finnish sisu"
 
TORNIO Errata/Clarifications

Errata/clarifications in black color were posted between June and November 2015.
Errata/clarification in red color and bold text was posted in December 2015.
Errata/clarifications in blue color and bold text were posted in January 2016.

A printable pdf-file of the TORNIO Errata/Clarifications (as of December 2015) is in "The Games" menu.
The Rules Manual errata are for the Rules Manual versions 1.0 and 1.1.

NOTE: All errata and clarifications here for the Rules Manual have been fixed and added in the Rules Manual version 1.2, which can be downloaded as a low resolution pdf-file in "The Games" menu.

Rules Manual:

  • 9.0: The sentence "17.5 Enemy Hex Control & ZOC Cost Table" should be "17.5 Enemy Hex & ZOC Cost Table". Ignore the word "Control".
  • 10.0 Clarification: A player can only gain ownership of a hex that he has entered with a friendly unit. For example, in order for the Germans to control Ajos (hex 3917) the hex must have been entered by a German unit.
  • 13.0: The sentence "See 17.5 Enemy Hex & ZOC Table" should be "See 17.5 Enemy Hex & ZOC Cost Table". Add the word "Cost".
  • 13.0 Clarification 1: Supply status is always checked for the Phasing Player units only.
  • 13.0 Clarification 2: It is possible to draw supply from a non-active Landing Site without alerting the German side. For example, it is possible to draw supply from Ajos (hex 3917) and still keep a Low Alarm Level if only Röyttä (hex 2602) has been used for Naval Landings.
  • 13.0 Clarification 3: Supply is checked only on Daytime (A) Game Turns, not on Nighttime (B) Game Turns. Units that have a broken status (Broken 1 or 2 Level) on Nighttime game turns may, however, reduce the Broken Level one step if the unit is in supply (can trace a supply line of up to 5 MPs). This means that if the unit is not in supply on a Nighttime game turn, the unit may not reduce a Broken status Level.
  • 16.1 Clarification: No German unit may start the game in the same hex as a Finnish unit.
  • 16.2 Clarification: All reinforcements are considered to have moved on the turn they arrive even when the units are starting on a Landing Site hex. This means also that all Support Units have a penalty due to movement [21.5] on the turn they arrive, no matter what.
  • 16.2.1: The last sentence "...as they can be listed on two rows" should be "...as they can be listed on up to three rows".
  • 17.0 Clarification: There are no limitations on how to move the units in terms of moving them one stack at a time or finishing the movement of one unit before moving another unit, etc.
  • 18.0 Clarification: In terms of the terrain that dominates in a hex, buildings are a little bit special in the game since the buildings in a hex are always counted in addition to the terrain, which is always either Open Ground or Forest.
  • 19.0 The sentence "The Phasing Player may then move into the vacant hex..." should be "The Phasing Player must then move into the vacant hex...". Change the word "may" for "must".
  • 19.0 Clarification 1: An Overrun only takes place when you actually enter the target hex with an odds ratio of at least 10:1. The Phasing Player may continue to move some or all of the units that took part in the overrun as long as the units are able to do this (have MPs remaining) and as long as the stacking limit of 10 units in a hex (in any hex) is not violated. This means also that you do not need to advance any further but can stop in the target hex.
  • 19.0 Clarification: The Phasing Player may temporarily violate the stacking limit of 10 units in a hex from where the Overrun will be initiated, BUT no more than 10 of the units may actually take part in the Overrun (counting Attack Factors) and only those 10 units must enter the target hex. The remaining "excess" units may enter the target hex later in the same Movement Phase or Exploitation Phase as long as the stacking limit of 10 units is not violated. For example, if the overrunning units continued with their movement beyond the target hex.
  • 21.0 Clarification: Round down to the closest column on the 21.7 Indirect Fire Support Table. Example: If the total support factor is 5, use the "4" column on the table.
  • 22.1 Clarification on combat and odds ratio calculation: Always round DOWN to the closest half (0.5) step when calculating the basic odds ratio. This means that if, and as soon as, the defender is stronger than the attacker in a combat, the basic odds ratio cannot be 1:1 but is instead 1:1.5 (in favor for the defender). If the defender is more than one and a half times (up to two times) stronger than the attacker, the basic odds ratio is 1:2 (in favor for the defender). If the defender is more than two times (up to two and a half times) stronger than the attacker, the basic odds ratio is 1:2.5 (in favor for the defender) and so forth. By basic odds ratio I mean before any combat modifiers are added and/or subtracted. If a final odds ratio is 1:2 it means that the defender rolls two dice while the attacker rolls only one die in that combat.
  • 22.3 Clarification 1: No outside fire is allowed into a Close Combat hex.
  • 22.3 Clarification 2: Motorized (class) units may participate in Close Combat but their combat factors are not doubled. Only Foot (class) combat units have their combat factors doubled in Close Combat.
  • 22.4.2: Add the following sentence to the rule: "A unit may give Defensive Flanking Support only if it has a Defense Factor (a final defense strength) that is more than 0 (zero)".
  • 22.5.1: Ignore the part of the sentence that says "all attacking units or". The sentence should be "..., but only as long as the defending units have not retreated or panicked." An attacker cannot retreat or panic before a Defender Bonus DR(s). This means that a voluntary retreat by the attacker must take place after the entire combat, not immediately after the attacker's combat die roll(s) [22.8].
  • 22.6.1 Clarification: Note that the example is correct when, for example, two units are already on a Broken 2 Level when they are taking part in a combat.
  • 22.9 Clarification 1: The Action Order is based on the whole combat, not on a unit by unit or stack by stack basis, while Action Points (APs) either affects one unit (when Step Loss or Broken 1 or 2 Levels), one stack (when Retreat), or all units involved (when Panic). Example: The attacker attacks from three hexes into the same target hex. The Action Points (APs) that the attacker suffers in the combat (due to the defender's DR) are distributed on all of the attacking units in the correct Action Order. This means that you first distribute any Step Loss APs on any or all of the units involved in the attack. Then, you distribute any Broken 1 Level APs on any units in the attack; any Broken 2 Level APs; and finally any Retreat or Panic APs if required. If you choose a Retreat action, any one of the three stacks must retreat one hex (this means also that you could choose up to three Retreat actions - one per stack). If you choose a Panic action, all three stacks must retreat two hexes.
  • 22.9 Clarification 2: The Action Order is ignored only if the unit is unable to spend all of the Action Points (APs) required. This will automatically result in the elimination (2nd Step Loss) of the unit.
  • 24.0 Add "or due to elimination" to the sentence. The sentence should be: "If one of the players has abandoned a hex either due to a Panic or Retreat combat action, voluntarily, or due to elimination, the other player may advance into the abandoned hex despite terrain".
  • 28.0: Also hex 3823 is considered to be part of the island Veitsiluoto.
  • 28.0: Also hex 3521 is considered to be part of the island Ajossaari. See 10.0 in the Rules Manual 1.2.
  • 28.1 Clarification 1: A "No Effect" combat action may not be used by any Intoxicated units in combat.
  • 28.1 Clarification 2: A revealed alcohol depot is no longer considered to be in the hex when the units are "Hangover" (when the "Intoxic." marker has been flipped to its "Hangover" side).
  • 28.1 Clarification 3: All actions (also Overruns) by all of the Finnish units that passed a revealed German alcohol depot is cancelled (they have never taken place).
  • 30.0 [12]: The sentence "...6.0 Sequence of Play Table..." should be "...6.1 Sequence of Play Table...".
  • APPENDIX - Main Sources: Microfilms: "8:2.828" should be "8:2.628".


 

Player Aid Card:

  • -


 

Finnish Order of Battle Card:

  • Clarification: If the Finnish player places a unit in hex 3621, he automatically controls all the hexes on the island Ajossaari and therefore also the VP-object in hex 3917 (Ajos). See rule 10.0 Hex Ownership.

 

German Order of Battle Card:

  • -.


 

Countersheet/Counters:

  • -
 

Map:

  • Clarification: The hexside between hexes 2415 and 2515 is considered to be a Major River (not a Minor River). NOTE: This has been fixed in the 2nd edition of the map which can be ordered separately. Contact info@mikugames.com if you are interested.
  • Hex 2519 is not supposed to be a power plant (Isohaaran voimalaitos) but a German prisoner-of-war camp (Vallitunsaaren leiri). The power plant was built between 1948-49. Sorry about this awkward mistake. In game terms, there are no changes however - the hex is still considered to be a Town/Factory Area hex worth 1 VP. NOTE: This has been fixed in the 2nd edition of the map which can be ordered separately. Contact info@mikugames.com if you are interested.
  • Clarification 1: Yes, there is a ZOC from hex 3622 into all adjacent non-illegal hexes.


 
 

Other:

  • -
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Copyright © 2007-2017 Mikugames. All rights reserved.
info@mikugames.com